Letter from the President

A Letter from the President

 

January 25, 2016

Lalita Noronha, PhD
President, Maryland Writer’s Association

Dear MWA Members:

Please join me in welcoming Kirsten (Kit) O’Neill to the Maryland Writers’ Association Board, where she will serve as the editor of Pen In Hand. This publication has been on hiatus for many months, and it is my great pleasure to begin the year with Kirsten at the helm.

In keeping with the theme of this issue, my New Year’s Resolution is one I’ve made before and never kept. Buddha says, “No one saves us but ourselves. No one can and no one may. We ourselves must walk the path.”

For me, this means I must buckle down and take better care of myself. Simple, shallow and uninspiring as it sounds, I know I must save myself to better serve my family and the communities in which I work.

I leave you with heartfelt wishes for peace and happiness in 2016. In Kahlil Gibran’s words, may we “Wake at dawn with a winged heart and give thanks for another day of loving.”

Happy New Year, Everyone.

Sincerely,

Lalita

 

